M30W Programming Forum

M30W is a text-based version of Scratch

You are not logged in.

Announcement

This is the development forum for M30W (also known as Emerald, do not confuse with Emerald Programming Language).
Our Non-development forums are available here

M30W(Emerald) 0.3 is out! (Download) Requires Python 2.6 or higher.
Opal 0.3(A better command line M30W) is out! (Download) Requires Python 2.6 or higher.
M30W 0.3.6 GUI barebones (Download) Requires Python 2.6 or higher and wxPython
Diamond-2 RED2 GUI Barebones (Fancy M30W editor) s out! (Download) Requires .NET Framework 3.5 or higher, does not require Python
M30W++ GUI barebones (Java M30W) Alpha 1 is out! (Download) Requires Java.


Gershmer.net, our hosting, will close in February 2011. We have not fully decided what to do with our hosting after that, but we will tell you when we decide.

Adverts

Adverts

#26 2010-02-01 21:49:10

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

hidas wrote:

cds56 wrote:

What NULS?

those rows of zeros?

okay back on topic, I f we freeze/ py2exe everything, then why switch to python 3.0?

when i open Scratch up in Notepad++. i get a bunch of NULS where it can't display things.

as for python 3, py2exe doesn't have Python 3 compatibility yet.

So do turn it to exe, aswell as turn it into python 3, so for people who aren't on a pc, isn't there a py2app?


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

2010-02-01 21:49:10

AdBot
Advertisements

#27 2010-02-02 02:23:47

floppy_gunk
I Am Your Father.
From: Earth, The Milky Way (I think)
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 186
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

When you turn python into an exe/app, the version of python that you're using gets added into the exe/app, so people with a different version of python can still run the program.


Big Bob bites black bugs, but black bugs bite Big Bob back.

Offline

 

#28 2010-02-02 07:42:12

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

And you jus happen to know this because? :/


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#29 2010-02-02 13:36:07

hidas
M30W Team
From: The 3rd dimension
Registered: 2009-11-11
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

i don't mean DON'T use py2exe, but use Python 3 to code it, in case we want to release a python-only version or something.


Heh heh heh (Semi-evil laugh)

Offline

 

#30 2010-02-02 15:55:39

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

hidas wrote:

i don't mean DON'T use py2exe, but use Python 3 to code it, in case we want to release a python-only version or something.

Thats the point in source code. But as you sai,d py2exe/app doesn't have python 3 compatibility.


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#31 2010-02-03 05:49:15

floppy_gunk
I Am Your Father.
From: Earth, The Milky Way (I think)
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 186
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

markyparky56 wrote:

And you jus happen to know this because? :/

Because I've seen it in the package contents of all python applications.

And also because my dad said so. ;)


Big Bob bites black bugs, but black bugs bite Big Bob back.

Offline

 

#32 2010-02-03 16:04:01

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

ALL HAIL FLOOPY'S DAD!!! :lol:


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#33 2010-02-03 18:39:18

hidas
M30W Team
From: The 3rd dimension
Registered: 2009-11-11
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

markyparky56 wrote:

ALL HAIL FLOOPY'S DAD!!! :lol:

floopy?


Heh heh heh (Semi-evil laugh)

Offline

 

#34 2010-02-03 19:45:04

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

hidas wrote:

markyparky56 wrote:

ALL HAIL FLOOPY'S DAD!!! :lol:

floopy?

Floppy_gunk


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#35 2010-02-04 22:55:51

cds56
THE TOOOTH! THE TOOOOOOOOOOOOTH!!!!!
From: Canamadiana
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 423

Re: Switch to Python 3

Floopy_grunge (his alter ego?)

floppy floopy, no big dif

I say NO to switching to python 3, because it's not right! and it has a different syntax AND IS NOT GOOD.


http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/glider.png

Offline

 

#36 2010-02-05 07:30:53

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

That makes sense.


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#37 2010-02-05 14:20:11

hidas
M30W Team
From: The 3rd dimension
Registered: 2009-11-11
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

cds56 wrote:

Floopy_grunge (his alter ego?)

floppy floopy, no big dif

I say NO to switching to python 3, because it's not right! and it has a different syntax AND IS NOT GOOD.

There really isn't that much difference. You have to use parenthesis with the "print" function, and just a few other things. Plus, IT IS better than Python 2 right now.

Last edited by hidas (2010-02-05 14:20:29)


Heh heh heh (Semi-evil laugh)

Offline

 

#38 2010-02-06 03:08:56

cds56
THE TOOOTH! THE TOOOOOOOOOOOOTH!!!!!
From: Canamadiana
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 423

Re: Switch to Python 3

Okay, so it's like saying that there is no big difference in between C and C++...

SORT OF

But from what i saw, there was an even bigger difference in PY3.

Meh, my vote doesn't count for a whole lot, I'm not one of the people working on the python M30W.


http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/glider.png

Offline

 

#39 2010-02-06 10:06:35

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

I think mine does though, but im not working on it either, Im just busy learning C# at the moment.


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#40 2010-02-12 08:42:20

floppy_gunk
I Am Your Father.
From: Earth, The Milky Way (I think)
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 186
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

cds56 wrote:

Meh, my vote doesn't count for a whole lot, I'm not one of the people working on the python M30W.

Even though you are not a moderator, I still see you as part of the team.

Though I guess it's not my opinion that counts.


Big Bob bites black bugs, but black bugs bite Big Bob back.

Offline

 

#41 2010-02-12 11:27:36

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

floppy_gunk wrote:

cds56 wrote:

Meh, my vote doesn't count for a whole lot, I'm not one of the people working on the python M30W.

Even though you are not a moderator, I still see you as part of the team.

Though I guess it's not my opinion that counts.

Same, maybe we should get gershmer to make him a mod now?


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#42 2010-02-12 19:42:15

floppy_gunk
I Am Your Father.
From: Earth, The Milky Way (I think)
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 186
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

Gershmer, will you do cds56 a kind favor and make him/her(?) a mod? pwitty pwease? :)


Big Bob bites black bugs, but black bugs bite Big Bob back.

Offline

 

#43 2010-02-12 19:57:08

Gershmer
Admin
From: Newton Centre, Massachusetts
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 515
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

OK.


http://card.ly/images/vcard-green-small.png

Offline

 

#44 2010-02-12 21:19:13

hidas
M30W Team
From: The 3rd dimension
Registered: 2009-11-11
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

Python 3 is faster. It has more and better things than Python 2. You can use the most recent libraries in Pygame, (which is what i use).


Heh heh heh (Semi-evil laugh)

Offline

 

#45 2010-02-15 18:01:06

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

hidas wrote:

Python 3 is faster. It has more and better things than Python 2. You can use the most recent libraries in Pygame, (which is what i use).

Hmmmm... but we have to have python 3 installed to run it?


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#46 2010-03-31 06:31:15

floppy_gunk
I Am Your Father.
From: Earth, The Milky Way (I think)
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 186
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

hidas wrote:

You have to use parenthesis with the "print" function

:o
:(

When I read that, I almost cried.

Ok, so I was trying to almost cry.

I kinda failed. ;)


Big Bob bites black bugs, but black bugs bite Big Bob back.

Offline

 

#47 2010-03-31 12:59:03

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

floppy_gunk wrote:

hidas wrote:

You have to use parenthesis with the "print" function

:o
:(

When I read that, I almost cried.

Ok, so I was trying to almost cry.

I kinda failed. ;)

That is kinda sad...


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

#48 2010-03-31 19:03:22

cds56
THE TOOOTH! THE TOOOOOOOOOOOOTH!!!!!
From: Canamadiana
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 423

Re: Switch to Python 3

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :(:(:(::):(:(:(

AAAAAAAAH NOT C++ SYNTACKS!


http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/glider.png

Offline

 

#49 2010-03-31 19:05:47

markyparky56
Hi...
From: Scotland
Registered: 2009-10-08
Posts: 910
Website

Re: Switch to Python 3

cds56 wrote:

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :(:(:(::):(:(:(

AAAAAAAAH NOT C++ SYNTACKS!

What about C#? lol


I am A M30Wr.
I always get the last word.

Offline

 

Adverts

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB
Hosted by PunBB-Hosting